MANTENO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 5 Special Meeting of the Board of Education Tuesday, June 14, 2011 – 6:30 p.m. Manteno High School Library

Open Meeting	The meeting was held in the library of Manteno High School, and was called to order by President Stauffenberg at 6:30 p.m.
Roll Call	The following members answered to roll call: G. Dodge E. Hofmeister G. Preston M. Stauffenberg – four (4)
	Absent: P. Mallaney (arrived at 6:35 p.m.), M. Nelson and J. Toepper – three (3)
	Also present: Supt. Russert, P. Russert, J. Ruland, and Clerk Fortin – four (4)
Pledge of Allegiance	President Stauffenberg led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.
Consent Agenda	Moved by Dodge, seconded by Hofmeister to approve the following agenda items as presented:
	 a. Employments Carolyn Johnson, ESY High School Severe/Profound room, one on one asst. Nikki McClain, substitute for a FMLA High School Business teacher leave from approximately August 30, 2011 for six weeks. *Sharolyn Hardy, Middle School Science teacher (for coverage of a one year military leave – no accrual of tenure rights) for the 2011-2012 school year. ** *Catherine Allaway, High School Spanish teacher and Mundo Club Sponsor for the 2011-12 school year.

- *Hilary Smith, District Speech/Language Pathologist for the 2011-2012 school year.
- *Andrew Zapinski, Middle School Special Education teacher for the 2011-2012 school year. ***
- Carl Minuth, High School Special Education teacher for the 2011-2012 school year.
- *Jessy Hauser, School Psychologist for the 20111-2012 school year.
- *Kristie Gore, Seventh grade Language Arts teacher for the 2011-2012 school year.
- *John Snipes, Middle School Assistant Principal for 2011-2012 school year.
- Lisa Fetherling, Freshmen girls basketball co-coach for the 2011-2012 season.
- Jessica Fetherling, Freshmen girls basketball co-coach for the 2011-2012 season.
- *Pending successful completion of employment paperwork.
- **Pending 6-12 Middle School Science & Social Studies endorsement by July 15, 2011.
- *** Pending Illinois certification.

- b. FMLA Requests
 - Mary Gibson, paraprofessional, September 6, 2011 thru September 23, 2011 (14 days)
 - Janet Austiff, Middle School Language Arts teacher, from approximately September 25, 2011 thru November 25, 2011 (approx. 41 days).
- c. Resignations
 - Randy Fortin, Middle School Assistant Principal effective at the end of the 2011-2012 school year.
 - Erica Domzalski, Elementary School paraprofessional effective June 9, 2011.
 - Kathleen Saindon, Speech Language Pathologist effective at the end of the 2010-2011 school year.
 - Ryan Kemp, Athletic Director/Assistant High School Principal effective at the end of the 2010-2011 school year.

Ayes: Dodge, Hofmeister, Preston, and Stauffenberg – four (4). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

New Business

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Lease	Moved by Preston, seconded by Hofmeister to approve a one year lease agreement between Manteno School District and Sovereign Bank for a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan with a wheel chair lift in the amount of \$8,500.00 as presented. Ayes: Preston, Hofmeister, Dodge, and Stauffenberg – four (4). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.
Executive Session	Moved by Dodge, seconded by Stauffenberg to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees and litigation. Ayes: Dodge, Stauffenberg, Hofmeister, and Preston – four (4). Nays – none (0). Open session ended at 6:32 p.m.
Return to Open Session	Moved by Hofmeister, seconded by Dodge to return to Open Session at 8:37 p.m. Roll Call – Hofmeister, Dodge, Mallaney, Preston, and Stauffenberg – five (5). Absent – Nelson and Toepper – two (2). Motion carried.
Deny FMLA Request	Moved by Dodge, seconded by Preston to deny a FMLA leave request for Employee "L". Ayes: Dodge, Preston, Hofmeister, Mallaney, and Stauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.
Approve Settlement Agmt.	Moved by Dodge, seconded by Preston to accept the Settlement Agreement regarding the student identified in Executive Session as presented. Ayes: Dodge, Preston, Hofmeister, Mallaney, and Stauffenberg –five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.
Approve Admin. Contracts	Moved by Hofmeister, seconded by Preston to approve the administrative contracts as presented. Ayes: Hofmeister, Preston, Dodge, Mallaney, and Stauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

ApproveMoved by Dodge, seconded by Mallaney to approve the non certifiedNon Certifiedemployee compensation. Ayes: Dodge, Mallaney, Hofmeister, Preston andEmployeeStauffenberg – five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.Compensation

Adjournment Moved by Dodge, seconded by Mallaney to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote – all five (5). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. The meeting ended at 8:39 p.m.

Mark Stauffenberg*Patrick Mallaney*Board President, Mark StauffenbergBoard Secretary, Patrick Mallaney*Original signatures on file at the District Office.MKS/PM/DF